Explorers Club Annual Dinner (ECAD) celebrates 50th anniversary of Apollo 11 moon landing

Dear Fellow Explorer:

Our great thanks to all of you for making ECAD 2019 – saluting the 50th Anniversary of the Moon Walk and the Apollo Astronauts – the most successful ECAD ever!

  • Record attendance, with close to 1,700 attendees
  • Record revenues – more than doubling last year
  • Worldwide news and media attention

The attendance of eight Apollo Astronauts was a historic milestone that provided one of the most successful and historic panel discussions ever, as each Apollo veteran told personal stories of triumph and near tragedy as they made their indelible mark on history.

  • Buzz Aldrin – Apollo 11
  • Michael Collins – Apollo 11
  • Walt Cunningham – Apollo 7
  • Charlie Duke – Apollo 16
  • Fred Haise – Apollo 13
  • Harrison Schmitt – Apollo 17
  • Rusty Schweickart – Apollo 9
  • Al Warden – Apollo 15

We were equally excited that we could salute our esteemed colleagues in exploration with our Club’s highest awards.

  • Dr. Kenneth Lacovara – The Explorers Medal
  • Michael Barth – The Citation of Merit
  • Dr. James McClintock – The Finn Ronne Memorial Award
  • Milbry Polk – The Sweeney Medal
  • Ian Mangiardi – The New Explorer Award

We are looking forward to a one-hour television special that will feature our ECAD Dinner and a salute to Apollo on The Discovery Channel this summer.  We will keep you advised once the air date is set.

ECAD, 3/16/2019

We’re already busy planning ECAD 2020, which promises to be every bit as historic and exciting, and we look forward to seeing you during the year at upcoming Club events.  I look forward to hearing your thoughts going forward and I urge you to get in touch with any ideas you may have, at rwiese@explorers.org.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Wiese
The Explorers Club

Contact Us

The Explorers Club Saint Louis
c/o Marguerite Perkins Garrik
886 Queen Anne Place
St. Louis, Missouri 63122

Email ritey1951@aol.com